what it's about

The challenges are massive, the changes are global and extremely fast, the solutions are unclear, the political, legal and climatic conditions are changing, with game changing consequences for companies and the economy that are difficult to predict. Only one thing is clear: companies and entire industries have to adapt to massive changes that they cannot yet foresee.

This now accelerated increase in complexity requires changed skills and focuses of the organizations: even more agility (in terms of responsiveness and speed), especially with respect to long-established processes, a culture of trial and error, and a drastic reduction in inefficient time wasters and the reduction of mentally stressful dysfunction so that employees can focus their energy on the things in the company for what humans are needed right now: creativity, cooperation, inspiration, innovation!

Regarding the employees, it is often about creating an environment and culture that allows the people in the company to experience appreciation and trust, grants them more freedom and personal responsibility, and so that ones potential and energy is released to develop the company further. This also means cooperation instead of competition, flexibility and constant change in the sense of growing instead of rigid, permanent structures, and in many areas management roles and structures are to be changed.

Such a transformation is of course a challenge, but also a great opportunity, especially for grown, larger companies and organizations and the people involved.

what I contribute

Supporting

Transformation

A Change, or better, an evolution with above characteristics often affect the “DNA” of a company, or is difficult to accept by middle management in particular. Thus it requires clarity and transparency, the “why”, a plausible strategy, sound communication, and a transformation process ensuring its “how” is in line with its goals.

Apart from these self-evident facts, it helps to understand organizations in a different way and more comprehensively, allowing different perspectives, and shaping the process of transformation in a dynamic and circular mode; only this way ensures one to cope with the complexity and reduced predictability of appropriate solutions and its success. And. last but not least the company has to build a constant ability to change.

My contribution would be manage the process of such changes, in operational mode or in accompanying the persons in charge.

Implementing

Collaboration Platforms

A good work management and collaboration platform hooks into the key mechanism: Cross-structural and cross-hierarchical cooperation, transparency, trust and self-organization, learning, agile and, above all, contemporary digital working, with an infrastructure and architecture that meets the requirements of larger organizations and corporates at enterprise level, especially with regard to data storage, security and user access management, business intelligence, and integration with the corporate IT ecosystem such as Microsoft.

Especially with respect to the Microsoft Ecosystem, the pioneering platfom KanBo goes a significant step further and solves an apparent paradox:

ONE App Experience instead of a rugged MS Ecosystem and optimally interlocked/ integrated in the O365 world!

The possibilities are nearly endless:

  • projects
  • projects - big/ complex
  • WiP Prozesse​
  • admin and coordination
  • standard procedures
  • standard procedures - complex
  • events, exhibitions etc.
  • processes of innovation
  • manage workflows (even integrate with ERP systems via API)
  • dashboard of portfolios

The unique advantage of KanBo is not only the one app approach, but also the direct integration with the content system (in this case MS SharePoint), and the consistent authorization control, e.g. B. based on MS Teams and the Active Directory of the company. The search in particular benefits from this, since it is not necessary to search in different content silos. The Elastic Stack data lake technology integrated in KanBo enables the development and of an enterprise-oriented business intelligence.

The introduction of collaboration software can be a key element of a comprehensive (digital) transformation, or, as a single project, a catalyst for New Work approaches and new organizational models.

I can look back to several and intense years of experience with KanBo and its adaptation in the corporate context to various application scenarios. Even more, I am a lead thinker in contributing to the evolution of KanBo in partnering its CEO and Master Mind for several years now. Thus I can support organizations comprehensively in related strategic discussions and operational design and implementation. In addition, we are back here to the topic of change, because the operative experience of the employees with the possibilities that are then available change a lot: the understanding of leadership at the level of the team and project managers, the communication among each other, the energy and the initiative to redesign processes etc.

Optimize & execute

Project management

  • Project and Program Management
  • Organizational Transformation, Strategy and Change
  • Pre & Post Merger/ Integration
  • Digital Transformation
  • Project Execution and Controlling based on above principles
  • Utilization of digital Platforms like KanBo

In challenging projects, it becomes exciting when you look at how the company works together (or not), how information is exchanged and decisions are made and made transparent, or where and how energy is created or destroyed. Finding good solutions for this is difficult enough, but even more crucial is the question of how it can be ensured major changes to the "system" are successfully implemented and remain sustainable.

Above all, making my contribution to these questions with the necessary sensitivity, experience and profound knowledge in the joint work then also forms the real added value that I can and would like to bring beyond the "craft" and routine.

who I am

Even before Corona and the war against Ukraine, the changes were already enormous, with the radical changes caused by technology and digitization, climate change, social change, the fragmentation of society, and the effects on markets, organizations, democracy and society are topics that have already driven me intensively. Corona has once again significantly accelerated digitization, and the geopolitical effects of war pose completely different questions for the future.

Professionally “grown up” in the 90s and 0s in classic management consulting in the financial services industry, my view has changed significantly in recent years.

I am deeply convinced that what is needed is a fundamentally different way of working, a changed understanding of companies and corporate management, a much more differentiated view on organizations and transformation, and a different view on people in the company.

Today, my aspiration is contributing to companies that regard these challenges and changes as an opportunity.

My “career path”:

Seit 2021

shaping the future

freelance within a network of specialized consultants and consulting and technology partners

2014

assignements in transformation

Head of a “Strategic Projects” department for the CEO of a financial service provider, being in particular responsible for comprehensive change initiatives.

In parallel I was passionately driven by the question how to create the basis for a change in how work is done in this company. I initiated and introduced the collaboration platform “KanBo”, and later on, I managed its move to the MS Azure Cloud.

Consequently used that platform in all my projects, even innovating the reporting on steering committee and board level -> "no PowerPoint, no Excel".

2010

entrepreneur

Good bye traditional “consulting machinery”, founded my own companies, a trading company in 2010, and in 2012, a fashion label with my partner, which is still ongoing

2000

Management Consulting

Strategy and organizational change, M&A within the financial services industry

1991

ManageIT & ERP

IT application development and implementation of ERP software (SAP R/3) within the financial services industry

1983

University

Study of mathematics and computer science

Any comments or questions?

Sometimes I am around here:

worum’s geht

Die Herausforderungen sind massiv, die Veränderungen global und rasend schnell, die Wege und Lösungen unklar, die gesellschaftlichen, politischen, rechtlichen und klimatischen Bedingungen verändern sich, mit schwer absehbaren Folgen für Unternehmen und Wirtschaft. Nur eines ist klar: Unternehmen und ganze Branchen müssen sich auf massive Veränderungen einstellen, die sie noch nicht absehen können.

Diese jetzt beschleunigte Zunahme von Komplexität erfordert veränderte Fähigkeiten und Schwerpunkte in den Organisationen: noch mehr Agilität (im Sinne von Reaktionsfähigkeit und -geschwindigkeit) vor allem mit Blick auf lang etablierte Prozesse, eine Kultur von Versuch und Irrtum, und eine drastische Verminderung von ineffizienten Zeitfressern und die Reduzierung von mental belastender Dysfunktionalität, damit Mitarbeitende ihre Energie auf die Dinge im Unternehmen konzentrieren können, wofür es gerade die Menschen braucht: Kreativität, Kooperation, Inspiration, Innovation.

Mit Blick auf die Mitarbeitenden geht es auch oftmals darum, einen Rahmen und eine Kultur zu schaffen, die die Menschen im Unternehmen Wertschätzung und Vertrauen erfahren lässt, ihnen mehr Freiheiten und eigene Verantwortung zugesteht, und damit die Potenziale und Energien für Entwicklung und Gestaltung freigesetzt werden. Das bedeutet auch Kooperation statt Wettbewerb, Flexibilität und stetige Veränderung im Sinne von Weiterentwicklung statt starrer, dauerhafter Strukturen, und in vielen Bereichen auch geänderte Führungsrollen und -strukturen.

Gerade für gewachsene, größere Unternehmen und Organisationen und die damit beteiligten Menschen ist ein solcher Wandel eine Herausforderung, und auch eine große Chance.

was ich beitrage

Begleitung in der

Veränderung

Veränderungen, oder besser, Weiterentwicklung in oben angeführten Themen berühren oftmals die DNA von Unternehmen, und sind gerade für das mittlere Management schwierig anzunehmen. Hier braucht es Klarheit und Transparenz, das „Warum“, eine plausible Strategie, eine gute Kommunikation, und ein Vorgehen, so dass sich das „Wie“ im Einklang mit den Zielen und dem Zielsystem befindet.

Abseits von diesen Selbstverständlichkeiten hilft es, Organisationen anders und umfassender zu begreifen, verschiedene Perspektiven einzunehmen und zuzulassen, und Prozesse großer Veränderungen dynamisch und zirkulär zu gestalten; nur so wird man der Komplexität und der reduzierten Planbarkeit von Lösungen und Erfolg gerecht. Und letztendlich muss die Wandlungsfähigkeit im Unternehmen selbst als Kompetenz verankert werden.

Mein Beitrag liegt in der Prozesssteuerung solcher Veränderungen, operativ oder als Sparringspartner für die Verantwortlichen.

Einführung von

Collaboration Plattformen

Eine gute Workmanagement und Collaboration Plattform setzt genau an den zentralen Wirkmechanismen an: Struktur- und Hierarchie übergreifende Kooperation, Transparenz, Vertrauen und Selbstorganisation, lernendes, agiles und vor allem auch zeitgemäßes digitales Arbeiten, mit einer Infrastruktur und Architektur, die den Anforderungen von größeren Organisationen und Corporates auf Enterpriselevel gerecht wird, insbesondere mit Blick auf Datenhaltung, Sicherheit und Zugriffsrechte, Business Intelligence, und der Integration mit dem Corporate IT Ecosystem, wie z.B. Microsoft.

Gerade mit Blick auf das Microsoft Ecosystem geht die wegweisende Plattform KanBo sogar noch einen wesentlichen Schritt weiter und löst ein scheinbares Paradox:

ONE App Experience anstatt zerklüftetes MS Ecosystem und optimal verzahnt/ integriert in der O365 Welt!

Die Einsatz- und Wirkmöglichkeiten sind dabei umfassend:

  • Projekte​
  • Projekte – groß/ komplex​
  • WiP Prozesse​
  • Administration & Koordination​
  • Standard Routinen​
  • Standard Routinen – groß/ komplex​
  • Events und Messen​
  • Kreativprozesse​
  • Workflowsteuerung​ (auch über API integriert mit anderen ERP Systemen)
  • Portfolio Dashboard​

Der Vorteil von KanBo ist nicht nur der one App Ansatz, sondern die direkte Integration vor allem mit dem Content System (in diesem Fall MS SharePoint), und die durchgängige Berechtigungsteuerung z. B. auf Basis von MS Teams und dem Active Directory des Unternehmens. Insbesondere die Suche profitiert davon, da nicht in unterschiedlichen Content Silos gesucht werden muss. Die in KanBo integrierte Data Lake Technologie Elastic Stack ermöglicht den Aufbau und die Auswertung Enterprise gerechter Business Intelligence.

Die Einführung einer Collaboration Software kann ein wesentliches Kernelement einer übergreifenden (digitalen) Transformation sein, oder, als Projekt für sich, ein Katalysator für Neues Arbeiten und neue Arbeits- und Organisationsmodelle.

In Bezug auf KanBo und der Adaption im Unternehmenskontext auf diverse Anwendungsszenarien kann ich eine mehrjährige Erfahrung in der Einführung und Anwendung zurückblicken. Mehr noch, als einer der Vordenker gerade dieser Lösung im Austausch mit dem CEO von KanBo, kann ich Organisationen umfassend bei der strategischen Diskussion und der operativen Umsetzung unterstützen. Zudem kommen wir hier wieder auf das Thema Veränderung, denn die operative Erfahrung der Mitarbeitenden mit den Möglichkeiten, die sich nun bieten, verändern viel: das Führungsverständnis auf Ebene der Team- und Projektleitenden, die Kommunikation untereinander, die Energie und die Initiative zur Neugestaltung von Abläufen usw.

Optimierung & Durchführung von

Projekt-Management

  • Projekt- und Multi-Projektmanagement
  • Organisationsentwicklung, Strategie- und Change Projekte
  • Pre- und Post Merger/ Integrationsprojekte
  • Digitalisierungsprojekte
  • Projektdurchführung und -steuerung möglichst auf Basis oben angeführter Grundsätze und Ziele
  • Hierfür Nutzung von digitalen Plattformen, z. B. der Collaboration Software KanBo

Spannend wird es in anspruchsvollen Projekten dann, wenn man sich damit befasst, wie dabei im Unternehmen zusammengearbeitet wird (oder nicht), wie Informationen ausgetauscht und Entscheidungen gefällt und transparent gemacht werden, oder wo und wie Energie entsteht oder vernichtet wird. Hierfür gute Lösungen zu finden ist schon schwierig genug, und noch entscheidender ist indes die Frage, wie größere Veränderungen am “System” durchgehalten und letztendlich auch erfolgreich umgesetzt werden können.

Vor allem auch zu diesen Fragestellungen mit der nötigen Sensibilität, Erfahrung und profundem Wissen meinen Beitrag in der gemeinsamen Arbeit zu leisten, bildet dann auch den wirklichen Mehrwert, den ich über das “Handwerk” und die Routine hinaus bringen kann und möchte.

wer ich bin

Vor Corona und dem Krieg gegen die Ukraine waren die Veränderungen schon enorm, mit den radikalen Veränderungen durch Technologie und Digitalisierung, dem Klimawandel, dem gesellschaftlichen Wandel, der Fragmentierung der Gesellschaft, und die Auswirkungen auf Märkte, Organisationen, Demokratie und Gesellschaft sind Themen, die mich da schon stark beschäftigt haben. Corona hat die Digitalisierung nochmals deutlich beschleunigt, und die geopolitischen Auswirkungen des Krieges stellen nochmal ganz andere Zukunftsfragen.

Beruflich „großgeworden“ in den 90er und 0er Jahren in der klassischen Management Beratung im Finanzdienstleistungsumfeld, hat sich meine Sicht in den letzten Jahren stark verändert.

Ich bin zutiefst davon überzeugt, dass es ein fundamental anderes Arbeiten, eines veränderten Verständnisses von Unternehmen und Unternehmensführung, eines viel differenzierten Blicks auf Organisationen und Transformation, und einer anderen Haltung den Menschen im Unternehmen gegenüber bedarf.

Heute geht es mir darum, einen wirksamen Beitrag für Unternehmen zu leisten, die diese Veränderungen als Chance begreifen.

Berufliche Stationen im Ablauf:

Seit 2021

Zukunft gestalten

freiberuflich im Netzwerk mit spezialisierten Beratern und Beratungen und Technologiepartnern

2014

Veränderungsprojekte

Leitung einer Stabsstelle “Strategische Projekte” für den CEO eines Finanzdienstleisters, insbesondere Verantwortung von umfassenden Veränderungsthemen.

Gleichzeitig war es mir ein Herzensanliegen, für dieses Unternehmen die Grundlagen für ein verändertes Arbeiten zu schaffen, u.a. durch die von mir initiierte und geleitete Einführung der Collaboration Plattform „KanBo“, und die spätere Migration in der Plattform in die MS Azure Cloud.

Innovative Verwendung der Collaborationslösung auch für die Durchführung der Projekte und das entsprechende Reporting über alle Ebenen -> “no PowerPoint, no Excel”

2010

Unternehmer

Abschied aus der traditionellen „Beratungsmaschinerie“, Gründung einer Kapitalgesellschaft (GmbH, Handel) sowie in 2012 Gründung eines Fashion Labels mit meiner Partnerin

2000

Management Consulting

Strategie- und Transaktionsprojekte bei Finanzdienstleistern

1991

ManageIT & ERP

IT Entwicklung und ERP Beratung (SAP R/3) bei Finanzdienstleistern

1983

“brotlos”

Studium der Mathematik und Informatik

Fragen oder Anmerkungen?

Manchmal bin ich auch hier: